On Friday June 14, 2018, a committee of dedicated SDPD employees,
led by Officer Kevin Vasquez and Officer Marlo Woods,
and supported by the San Diego Black Police Officers Association,
honored a number of pioneering black officers 
Assistant Chief of Police Rulette Armstead

Detective Shirley Black

Officer Archie C. Buggs

Sergeant John W. Cloud

Captain Harold Cox

Officer Helga Johnson

PEO Supervisor Kim Lomack-George

Special Officer Frank McCarter

Detective Sergeant William W. "Bert" Ritchey

Detective Johnnie L. Williams
Juneteenth, also known as Juneteenth Independence Day or Freedom Day, is an American holiday
that commemorates the June 19, 1865, announcement of the abolition of slavery in Texas,
and more generally the emancipation of enslaved African-Americans
throughout the former Confederacy of the southern United States.
Its name is a portmanteau of "June" and "nineteenth", the date of its celebration.

Juneteenth is recognized as a state holiday or special day of observance in forty-five states.
A'Kilah Coston

John Gonzalez     

Nasira Johnson
Sherika Moore 
Maurice Turman

Michael Wallace 

Terance Charlot

William Hernandez

Ben Kelso

Kristin Robinson    

Akaan Thomas

Brent Williams  
Joseph Elisma

Josh Hodges

Cylnthia Long

Arthur Scott

Andre Thomas

Marlo Woods   
Taura Gentry

Grants Huff

Keith Lucas

Omar Sinclair

Kevin Vasquez